WRITING CONTEST #8

WRITING CONTEST: Every Monday a new, interesting vocabulary word will be posted here, as well as a sentence using that word.

Your job is to create and post a new, better sentence in the comment box, using the same word. Yes, you may change the form of the word. Yes, I’ll be the judge. Yes, I am a subjective judge  ( I like clever or funny, I hate bigotry).

The winning sentence will be announced here the following Monday.

THIS WEEK’S WORD:    ~ tear ~

SENTENCE TO BEAT:  The torn pages made me tearful, wailing as I tore out my hair.

 

7 responses to “WRITING CONTEST #8

  1. As the kids came tearing up the driveway on their bikes, not paying attention to the fact that I was driving in right behind them, I thought, “I am gonna tear them a new one for being so oblivious, and look, Luke tore his shirt on the branch and didn’t even notice!”

  2. Dave Dillon

    I tried to tear a tear from my worn countenance, but only wound up with a lachrymal secretion.

  3. Trav Williams

    When the wind tears the leaves from trees,
    It sounds of rustled symphonies.

  4. Rick Morton

    As I listened to the Eagles belt out their refrain for the sixteenth straight time, my mission in life solidified into a single, unalterable purpose and goal: to tear at least one tear from her lying eyes.

  5. A tearful greeting, or tearful goodbye leaves me with just another reason to invest in Kleenex.

  6. “I told you before, Oswald, you will have to tear it from my cold, dead, hands, but seeing as how it’s a goddamn time machine…” and with a shit-eating grin and a quiet poof, he was gone.

  7. The sun knew he could never form a tear for it was too hot to be sad.