WRITING CONTEST #11

DEADLINE: AUGUST 27

WRITING CONTEST: Every Monday a new, interesting vocabulary word will be posted here, as well as a sentence using that word.

Your job is to create and post a new, better sentence in the comment box, using the same word. Yes, you may change the form of the word. Yes, I’ll be the judge. Yes, I am a subjective judge  ( I like clever or funny, I hate bigotry).

The winning sentence will be announced here the following Monday.

THIS WEEK’S WORD:    ~ grain ~

SENTENCE TO BEAT:  The grainy photo pulsed between my fingertips.

6 responses to “WRITING CONTEST #11

  1. As the grain of sand is to the oyster, you have become my pearl, yet you have become too beautiful to hold within my modest shell any longer.

  2. Although there did not seem to be a grain of truth in her story, her mother chose to remain in the comfortable world of denial.

  3. It took but a single grain of sand, a lonely souvenir from that holiday in Marseilles, to flaw my uncle’s covetable Ray-Bans from Ventura High, circa 1973.

  4. Here comes the grrrain Oregain!

  5. Sweat ran down her dark face, the West African sun beating down on her, muscled, dark arms as they heaved the thick pole back up into the air, caught it, smashed the end into the bowl holding the yellow grain soon to be made into the family’s meal.

  6. Erin E. Cooper

    “But we agreed on nothing but local, organic, gluten-free whole grains!” he cried, as she guiltily tried to hide the illicit Wonderbread behind her back.