WRITING CONTEST #12

DEADLINE: SEPTEMBER 3rd

WRITING CONTEST: Every Monday a new, interesting vocabulary word will be posted here, as well as a sentence using that word.

Your job is to create and post a new, better sentence in the comment box, using the same word. Yes, you may change the form of the word. Yes, I’ll be the judge. Yes, I am a subjective judge  ( I like clever or funny, I hate bigotry).

The winning sentence will be announced here the following Monday.

THIS WEEK’S WORD:    ~ hell ~

SENTENCE TO BEAT:  I walked downstairs into the eighth circle of swamp gas hell; the dog, a doddering springer spaniel, looked at me, forlorn, ashamed and, above all, desperate to go the bathroom . . . again.

12 responses to “WRITING CONTEST #12

  1. Casey Graziano

    While I’ve spent many hours trapped in this hipster-ridden coffee shop, I bumped into Cerberus holding a trente coffee cup. . . who knew the the third circle of hell was Starbucks?

  2. The Sahel was certainly aptly named: the heat made the combination of drunk camel, woolen underthings, and hemorrhoids truly Hell on Earth.

  3. Hell is internal…but so is heaven. It’s a choice right here, right now.

  4. Hell for me would be no legs, and even then I’d kick, yes with my phantom legs, and scream and crawl my way out of it. Though I find this guy to be extremely inspiring too.

  5. As he strode towards the man who would decide his fate, he tried to look confident in spite of the looming fear that he was about to meet the devil of his own personal hell.

  6. Actually in another thought, my idea of a heaven is different. Afterlife, you know after you live, being that it is a destination for some and something to run to for others. I look at it this way, if you are a good person and make lots of memories, you live on through the memories you created with others, the stories they tell, the pictures they have, the things they remember about you, the memories are what keep a person alive. I think Hell would be to be forgotten completely, no one who cared enough, no one who knew enough, just gone. The prequel to that Hell would seemingly be a life of solitude, whether deliberate or by means of being cast out, surely that would be a hell in and of itself.

  7. It started getting warm as I went down the stairs; then I saw the flames, and thought: “Oh. Hell.”

  8. As he painted the walls of his own personal hell with swirls and whorls, with streaks and swaths, with drop shadows and downward spirals, he realized that no combination of purple and orange ever works.

  9. The road to hell is paved with URLs.

  10. The East African sun drenched her in heat as she stared blankly at the bones of a giraffe scattered on the desert sands, soon to be joined by her own, she supposed, if nobody came back to get the stranded bus passengers.

  11. I messed up! Sorry Holly! Here’s the sentence with the word you wanted: The East African sun drenched her in it’s hellish heat as she stared blankly at the bones of a giraffe scattered on the desert sands, soon to be joined by her own, she supposed, if nobody came back to get the stranded bus passengers.

  12. They waited for a long while there by the spitting firepits of hell; It may well have been an eternity, but it was hard to tell as that was the general idea of the punishment.