WRITING CONTEST #16

DEADLINE: October 15th

WRITING CONTEST: Every Monday a new, interesting vocabulary word will be posted here, as well as a sentence using that word.

Your job is to create and post a new, better sentence in the comment box, using the same word. Yes, you may change the form of the word. Yes, I’ll be the judge. Yes, I am a subjective judge  ( I like clever or funny, I hate bigotry).

The winning sentence will be announced here the following Monday.

THIS WEEK’S WORD:    ~ grit ~

SENTENCE TO BEAT:  The grit in my eye fortuitously blocked the view of the nuclear moon.

5 responses to “WRITING CONTEST #16

  1. Patrick Nelson

    “Let me tell you something, young man,” the General said through drifting curls of pipe smoke, “there’s courage and then there’s grit; you’ve got grit and I hate grit.”

  2. Here is my first attempt at this….

    As the wind swirled the hot dusty trail, the cowboy felt a undeniable grit in his mouth.

  3. The sky was gritty with smoke so thick you could feel it between your teeth and under your fingernails.

  4. Chad C. Holloway

    Here you go:

    The disgusted Waffle House diner snorted, “If I never see another grit it will be too soon!”

    Disclaimer: I love the Waffle House and grits, particullarly Albers.

  5. Jeffrey Edginton

    You could hear through the pain in his voice, spitting with grit, hitting your senses with reality.