WRITING CONTEST #25: use the word “amend”

DEADLINE:    January 28th

SENTENCE WRITING CONTEST: Every Monday a new, interesting vocabulary word will be posted here, as well as a sentence using that word.

Your job is to create and post a new, better sentence in the comment box, using the same word. Yes, you may change the form of the word. Yes, I’ll be the judge. Yes, I am a subjective judge  ( I like clever or funny, I hate bigotry).

The winning sentence will be announced here the following Monday.

THIS WEEK’S WORD:    AMEND~   

Need a simple definition reminder?  http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/amend

SENTENCE TO BEAT:    He tried and tried and tried to amend his words, the re-explanations and apologies going on for days, but he couldn’t amend the unfurling of time, the movie-memory looping in her brain.

10 responses to “WRITING CONTEST #25: use the word “amend”

  1. The first amendment lay on the ground, shot down by the NRA.

  2. The state of public education could use a serious amendment; so could the kids’ pants.

  3. I like to amend my words before I say them aloud but it doesn’t always happen.

  4. Celebrate shock and awe, pull at the maw, bite the craw, amend the draw: it’s time for a Dali la-tea-dah.

  5. I am in the process of amending my parenting skills, morphing them into something a tween will actually listen to and obey since she is no longer at the elementary level, even if it causes me to amend the words I’d like to say before they fly out of my mouth.

  6. Oh Lord, won’t you buy me
    A Mercedes Benz
    My friends all drive Porsches,
    I must make amends (Janice Joplin)
    [I know she is beyond competition LOL]

  7. She suffered; and she came to believe she was an ament, because she could not, for the life of her or the love of God, amend the wreckage of her past.

  8. I’m pushing an amendment of the Merriam Webster definition of awesome, to include a picture of Holly Lorincz.

  9. She took John Steinbeck’s hand and said, “You know, when we amend the soil with bull crap, we grow more peas, so maybe all your novel needs is an amendment and a few truckloads of crap.”

  10. The politician tried to amend their previous statement for the sake of damage control but the truth was out: He was an absolute moron.