WRITING CONTEST #29: use the word “posture” in a sentence

DEADLINE:    February 25th 

SENTENCE WRITING CONTEST: Every Monday a new, interesting vocabulary word will be posted here, as well as a sentence using that word.

Your job is to create and post a new, better sentence in the comment box, using the same word. Yes, you may change the form of the word. Yes, I’ll be the judge. Yes, I am a subjective judge  ( I like clever or funny, I hate bigotry).

The winning sentence will be announced here the following Monday.

THIS WEEK’S WORD:    POSTURE ~   

Definition:   http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/

SENTENCE TO BEAT:    The power window sat tight, as tight as her father, a statue dedicated to the perfect driving posture, hands at ten and two, spine straight, face forward, immune to distractions.

(excerpt from my novel-in-production  THE SAME RIVER, TWICE )

4 responses to “WRITING CONTEST #29: use the word “posture” in a sentence

  1. As much your posturing is entertaining, you will always be a little man with little man ways.

  2. Her lips said I love you but her posture said get the @#$! away from me you creepy git in a funny Irish accent.

  3. The girl stepped onto the runway, intensely aware that her posture gave her away as an imposter.

  4. We sat on a park bench, desperately trying to absorb some warmth from the early spring sunshine and work out our computer induced hunches, before trudging back to our windowless cubicles. I alternated between eyeing my watch to ensure we wouldn’t return even a second before we must, and pretending I was vacationing on a Caribbean island that smelled faintly of paper mill exhaust and soggy hog fuel. I was lounging on the beach when I was startled by a tentative tap on the shoulder. Gasping, I glanced over my shoulder to see a pair of ancient ladies smiling at me. The tapper explained, “I just wanted to tell you what nice posture you have.”