WRITING CONTEST #30: use the word “drop” in a sentence

DEADLINE:    March 4th 

SENTENCE WRITING CONTEST: Every Monday a new, interesting vocabulary word will be posted here, as well as a sentence using that word.

Your job is to create and post a new, better sentence in the comment box, using the same word. Yes, you may change the form of the word. Yes, I’ll be the judge. Yes, I am a subjective judge  ( I like clever or funny, I hate bigotry).

The winning sentence will be announced here the following Monday.

THIS WEEK’S WORD:    ~ DROP ~   

Definition:   http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/

SENTENCE TO BEAT:    Sloan dropped her voice, tried to maintain calm, as she said, “I am defending my dissertation in exactly two hours – what the hell is wrong with you?”

(excerpt from my novel-in-production,  THE SAME RIVER, TWICE )

8 responses to “WRITING CONTEST #30: use the word “drop” in a sentence

  1. “Just drop the subject.”, said Annabella to her not-so-intimidating evil step sister.

  2. When the drop of my blood hit the floor, my fear splashed against the walls of my sanity.

  3. “The sweet lass has the dropsy, ” she whispered, pulling the crisp linen sheets to the unconscious girl’s chin and shooing the family from the room.

  4. I heard her finish her sentence, but by the time the last word left her lips, I had become a drop of water in freefall; all of my reality would scatter when I hit the ground.

  5. Though always considered eccentric by his friends, Reggie’s standing took a barometric drop when he began the bizarre habit of eating every meal with his feet.

  6. Peterson, stunned, stood perfectly still, desperately trying to think of something clever or funny to say, in the end deciding to just go for it, drop to one knee, and ask,”Sloan, will you forget all about your study of bigotry in the Chicago Sausage Industry during the 1980s and please marry me?”

  7. The boy’s father marched him into the living room. Resting a hand on his shoulder, he caused the boy to face his mother’s disapproving frown.

    “Don’t you have something you need to say?” his father prompted sternly. The boy’s mind scrambled, trying to come up with the correct response. What was it he’d done again? The brief chastisement in the kitchen flashed through his mind…something about roughly dropping the cat, maybe?

    “I’m sorry for throwing the cat in the house,” the boy mumbled quickly. That should cover it he thought with relief as he scanned the bemused faces of his parents. All at once, his parents started laughing hysterically. Well, this was unexpected. Parents! Who could understand them?

  8. It was as if the atom bomb dropped – smackdab- on the hearts of my sons, deafening the words “I have cancer”.