WRITING CONTEST #32: use the word “screech” in a sentence.

DEADLINE:    April 8th

SENTENCE WRITING CONTEST: Every Monday a new, interesting vocabulary word will be posted here, as well as a sentence using that word.

Your job is to create and post a new, better sentence in the comment box, using the same word. Yes, you may change the form of the word. Yes, I’ll be the judge. Yes, I am a subjective judge  ( I like clever or funny, I hate bigotry).

The winning sentence will be announced here the following Monday.

THIS WEEK’S WORD: ~ SCREECH ~   screecher, screeching, screechy…  

SENTENCE TO BEAT:    Before she could gather enough breath to screech in terror, the tires bumped and gripped.— excerpt from SMART MOUTH by Holly Lorincz

Definition:   http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/

7 responses to “WRITING CONTEST #32: use the word “screech” in a sentence.

  1. With a screech and a yowl the cat and the owl played tag on an overcast day!

  2. When I applied my breaks, I heard a horrible, grinding “SCREECH” of the pads and the disks forced to interact with each other.

  3. With a screech, the door opened, only to reveal more questions instead of answers.

  4. Every time you screech my name, your hot breath propels me backward; have you noticed?

  5. martinilover

    “Scritchy, scritchy, screech, won’t you bring me a peach?” the rabbit cried from the bell tower.

  6. As hard as she tried, she couldn’t recall the moment of impact. She could remember everything up to that point; the song on the radio, the thoughts buzzing through her head, the sudden realization that her day wasn’t going to go as planned, but not the crash. When she tried, she could summon fuzzy, disconnected memories: the screech of the tires, the shrieking of metal torn asunder. But, she was never sure if they were real or imagined.

  7. When the president of the National Tough Guy Association screeches like THAT, you can rest assured, there’s a problem.