WRITING CONTEST #34: in honor of tax week, use “money” in a sentence

DEADLINE:    April 22ND

SENTENCE WRITING CONTEST: Every Monday a new, interesting vocabulary word will be posted here, as well as a sentence using that word.

Your job is to create and post a new, better sentence in the comment box, using the same word. Yes, you may change the form of the word. Yes, I’ll be the judge. Yes, I am a subjective judge  ( I like clever or funny, I hate bigotry).

The winning sentence will be announced here the following Monday.

  THIS WEEK’S WORD: ~ MONEY ~     

SENTENCE TO BEAT:

She glared at them in the bus’s rearview mirror. “Come on, you guys. Put on your seat belts.”

She heard scrabbling behind her, but no clicks.

“Ms. Taylor?”

“Put your seatbelt on!”

“Uh, I can’t. There aren’t any seat belts.”

Safety first, unless it’s money first. “Okay. Pack your bags in around you, keep the aisle clear, stay in your seats. If you go flying past me, grab onto my hair.”

-excerpt from SMART MOUTH, a novel by Holly Lorincz

(Sure, technically this is waaaay more than one sentence. Do as I say, not as I do.)

Definition:   http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/

5 responses to “WRITING CONTEST #34: in honor of tax week, use “money” in a sentence

  1. Money gets you through times of no ____, better than _______ gets you through times of no money.

  2. I know you think you know what you’re saying, but trust me on this: if you hit another three-pointer, don’t yell “I got a MONEY SHOT!”

  3. Is money intertwined, creating a power rift, sifting away the love while tying down the need?

  4. The Federal Reserve prints funny money which is no laughing matter seeing it has dropped 98% in purchasing power since they took the job over from the Treasury in 1913!

  5. If money is the root of all evil then why isn’t that dollar bill I planted sprouting into a big ol money tree?